Alumni Stay in Touch

Department Accolades

Students, faculty and staff of the Political Science Department were recognized across the university for their work, dedication and performance during the 2018-19 year.


  • Political Science - Amy Holmes

  • MPP - Elizabeth Esparza

  • College of Liberal Arts Outstanding Graduate Student - Elizabeth Esparza

  • College of Liberal Arts Contributions to the Public Image of the University - Jasmin Fashami

  • College of Liberal Arts Service to the Community - Johanna Cogen

  • Cal Poly Arts Service to the Arts - Katie Ettl

  • Cal Poly President’s Diversity Award - Katie Ettl


  • George and Janice Clucas Awards - Brandon Roul and Eireann O’Grady

  • George and Janice Clucas Scholarship - Samantha Tiscareno


  • Academic Excellence, Undergraduate - Lauren Davis

  • Academic Excellence, Graduate - Elizabeth Granger

  • Outstanding Service, Undergraduate - Johanna Cogen

  • Outstanding Service, Graduate - Elizabeth Esparza

  • Undergraduate Non-Research Paper - Ian Levy

  • Undergraduate Research Paper - Ethan Gunnlaugsson

  • Senior Project (Paper) - Olivia Grob-Lipkis

  • Senior Project (Non-paper) - Andrea Amavisca

  • MPP Seminar Paper - Elizabeth Esparza

  • 590 Paper - AnnMarie Cornejo

Faculty and Staff Awards

  • Richard K. Simon Award for Outstanding Career Achievement in Scholarship - Chris Den Hartog

  • Douglas L. Epperson Innovation Award - Chris Den Hartog

  • Richard K. Simon Award for Outstanding Career Achievement in Teaching - Anika Leithner

  • CLA Early Career Award for Achievement in Teaching - Jennifer Denbow

  • Staff Excellence Award - Lily Curtis

Other Grants and External Awards

  • Nancy Arrington. Social Science Research and Instructional Council, Instructional Materials Project ($3,000). Research Design and Methods for Social Science.

  • Elizabeth Lowham, Anika Leithner. Hewlett Foundation Grant ($150,000). Cybersecurity Challenges (through the California Cybersecurity Institute).

  • Martin Battle, Elizabeth Lowham. County of San Luis Obispo Behavioral Health ($120,000). MHSA Innovation Evaluation.

Related Content